Additional Resources

Home / Additional Resources

Additional Addiction Related Resources

As one of the best-known addiction specialists in New York, Dr. Seitz has a special interest in in the science of addiction and the use of evidence-based medical treatment to advance and sustain recovery. As many “resources” for treatment are mere advertisements for specific treatment centers and present evidence that is unconfirmed and thereby unworthy of serious consideration and analysis, Dr. Seitz has vetted the following resources as generally having accurate and useful information.

Please let us know which links are most helpful, which are outdated or non-functional and which contain erroneous information so we can keep our reading recommendations up to date. When it comes to addiction and its treatment, knowledge is power. This is a disease that kills thousands of people annually. We owe it to all those with this condition to treat them with the most up-to-date and evidence-based treatment approaches.

Self-Help Groups – generally based upon the 12 step model
Articles of Scientific Relevance

Treatment Approaches for Drug Addiction

What is drug addiction treatment?

New Prescriptions for Addiction Treatment

Recommended Books

Addiction Treatment: Science and Policy for the Twenty-first Century

Documentary Films

HBO: Addiction

Addiction and Recovery Blogs

These are Dr. Seitz’s favorite blogs as they address the disease of addiction from the perspective of the addict.

  1. The Fix, thefix.com
  2. Momastery, momastery.com
  3. Intervene, intervene.drugfree.org
  4. Sober Julie, www.soberjulie.com
  5. Addiction Blog, http://alcohol.addictionblog.org
  6. Sober College, http://sobercollege.com
  7. Spiritual River, http://www.spiritualriver.com
  8. SoberNation, http://www.sobernation.com
  9. Chipur, http://chipur.com
  10. Sort My Life Solutions, http://www.smyls.co.uk
  11. Breaking the Cycles, http://www.breakingthecycles.com
  12. Klen + Sobr, http://www.sincerightnow.com/
  13. The Hurt Healer, http://thehurthealer.com/
  14. Paul Garrigan.com, http://paulgarrigan.com
  15. Recovery Health Care, http://recoveryhealthcare.me
  16. Addiction land, http://www.addictionland.com
  17. Shatterproof, http://www.shatterproof.org
  18. Center for Motivation and Change Articles for Families, jhttp://www.motivationandchange.com/blog
  19. Changing Lives Foundation, http://www.drug-addiction-help-now.org
  20. Drinking Diaries, http://www.drinkingdiaries.com
  21. Crying Out Now, http://www.cryingoutnow.com
  22. Phase 2 For You, http://phase2foryou.com/blog 
  23. Parent Pathway, http://parentpathway.com
  24. Reach Out Recovery, http://reachoutrecovery.com
  25. Guinevere Gets Sober, http://guineveregetssober.com
  26. Tommy Rosen.com,  http://www.tommyrosen.com
  27. The Discovering Alcoholic, http://discoveringalcoholic.com
  28. All About Addiction, http://www.allaboutaddiction.com
  29. Selected Papers of William L. White, http://www.williamwhitepapers.com/blog 
  30. B Here Today, http://bheretoday.com
  31. Growing Up Chaotic, http://growingupchaotic.com
  32. Sandy Swenson, http://www.sandyswenson.com
  33. One Crafty Mother, http://www.onecraftymother.com
  34. Recovery Reflections, http://www.recoveryreflections.com
  35. Jody Lamb.com – http://www.jodylamb.com
  36. Quitting Crystal Meth, http://www.quittingcrystalmeth.com
  37. Stay Close Blog, http://libbycataldi.com/blog
  38. The Spirit of Recovery, http://thespiritofrecovery.net
  39. Rock Star Super Star Project – http://highschool-motivational-speaker.com/
  40. Drinking to Distraction, http://drinkingtodistraction.com
  41. The Brentwood House Blog, http://www.malibubeachrecoverycenter.com/blog/
  42. The Drug Class Blog, http://drugclass.ca
  43. The Immortal Alcoholic, http://www.immortalalcoholic.blogspot.com
  44. Addiction Inbox, The Science of Substance Abuse, http://addiction-dirkh.blogspot.com
  45. Recovery Maps, http://recoverymaps.com/blog
  46. An Addict in Our Son’s Bedroom, http://parentsofanaddict.blogspot.com
  47. Yoga and Recovery, http://yoga-recovery.blogspot.com
  48. Bye Bye Beer, http://byebyebeer.wordpress.com
  49. The Sober World, http://www.thesoberworld.com
  50. Life at Full Throttle, http://lifeatfullthrottle.com
  51. Addiction Journal, http://addictionjournal.net
  52. I’m Just F.I.N.E., http://fine-anon.blogspot.com
  53. Healing Imperfectly, http://healingimperfectly.blogspot.com
  54. Mrs. D. Is Going Without, http://livingwithoutalcohol.blogspot.com
  55. My Life as 3D, http://mylifeas3d.blogspot.com 
News And Healthcare Policy

Much as we may not like to admit it, many externally controlled variables can influence treatment. These may include insurance companies as well as state or federal regulatory agencies. What is clear to us in the field is that although there is supposed to be “parity” between mental health and physical health issues, the many roadblocks to treatment demonstrate that this is not the case. Politics, as much as we don’t want to admit it, plays a role here. And because of political influence, people with the disease of addiction needlessly suffer consequences in ways that those with physical health issues do not. Below, Dr. Seitz has included newsworthy articles, many of which address the complex issues surrounding treatment

Treatment Not Incarceration

Another Big Health Insurer Loosens Rules For Covering Addiction Treatment

Smiley face